Scientific Advisory Committee

Scientific Advisory Committee

Alicia Carriquiry is Distinguished Professor of Statistics and Director of the Center for Statistics and Applications in Forensic Science at Iowa State University. She works in linear models and Bayesian statistics. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (2006) and the American Statistical Association (1999) and has served on numerous committees for the National Academy of Sciences.

René Carmona is the Paul M. Wythes ’55 Professor of Engineering and Finance at Princeton University, the Director of Graduate Studies in the Bendheim Center for Finance, and former Chair of the Operations Research and Financial Engineering Department. He works in stochastic analysis, financial mathematics, and signal/image analysis. He was elected Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics in 1984 and of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics in 2009.

Amir Dembo is the Marjorie Mhoon Fair Professor of Quantitative Science and Professor of Mathematics and Statistics at Stanford University. He works in probability theory, information theory, and stochastic processes. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and served on the Board of the Institute for Mathematics and Its Applications from 2012–2017.

Bjorn Engquist is Professor and Chair of Computational and Applied Mathematics and Director of the Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences Center for Numerical Analysis at the University of Texas at Austin. He works on the development and analysis of numerical methods for differential equations. Engquist is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. He was a Guggenheim Fellow, and received the first James H. Wilkinson Prize in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing in 1982, as well as the Henrici Prize in 2011.

Thomas Grandine is a Senior Technical Fellow at The Boeing Company and holds a PhD in Numerical Analysis from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. His areas of expertise include advanced geometric design, curve and surface modeling, numerical approximation, splines, and multidisciplinary design optimization. He is a Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics and is currently a member of the Board of Trustees.

Larry Hedges is a Board of Trustees Professor of Statistics and Chair, of the Department of Statistics at Northwestern University. He works in applied statistics and applications of statistics in social policy analysis. He is currently the Chair of the US National Education Sciences Board where he was appointed in 2012 by President Obama. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Education and is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Statistical Association, the American Psychological Association, and the American Educational Research Association. He received the Yidan Prize in Education Research in 2018.

Claude Le Bris is Civil Engineer-General and Research Scientist at the Ecole Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées in France. He works on partial differential equations with applications in computational chemistry, physics, multiscale problems, and homogenization theory. He received the Giovanni Sacchi-Landriani Prize in 2002 and the Blaise Pascal Prize in 1999 from
the French Academy of Sciences.

Rebecca Willett is Professor of Statistics and Computer Science at the University of Chicago. Her research interests include signal processing, machine learning, and large-scale data science. She received the National Science Foundation CAREER Award in 2007, was a member of the DARPA Computer Science Study Group from 2007 to 2011, and received an Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Program award in 2010.